The Texas-Louisiana Gulf Coast Synod

Minutes of the Synod Council Meeting May 16, 2013

Present: John Turnquist, Sarah Ray, Paul Monroe, EvanMoilan, Bishop Mike Rinehart, Pedro Suarez, Eileen Doll, Diane Campbell, Barb Simmers, Sue Beall, Dudley Piland, Brad Fuerst, David Hollrah

Guest: Pr. Raphael Malpica-Padillo, Blair Lundborg, Assistant to the Bishop

The Synod Council met immediately prior to the 2013 Synod Assembly. Vice President Evan Moilan called the meeting to order at 10:00am. The Council approved minutes of the prior meeting.

Approved members of the Elections, Credentials and Bishop's Election committees.

Received report by Treasurer Paul Monroe about status of Mission Endowment Fund. Approximately \$28,243 remains in the account. As there is no immediate use for the funds, Monroe moved (subsequently seconded) that the funds be returned to the Synod and used in the account for LEAD. Carried.

Linda Martins nominated to serve as Synod Council member for next six hours of unexpired term and then full term following. Agreed by Council, recommended to Assembly and approved by assembly;

There ensued a discussion about the role of LEAD. Chris Hicks, staff person who had been working with Peggy Hahn, wishes to retire. Beth Hartfiel was lifted up as a candidate. Her salary package and qualifications were discussed and the Council voted to extend her a call as full time staff for LEAD.

Paul Monroe described certain anomalies in the financial statements, largely left over from 2009 when Synod converted to new financial software.

The Bishop updated Council on pastoral matters. The Synod faced challenges from a certain pastor with respect to behavior by the pastor, and the Consultation Committee had been consulted. The Committee unanimously recommended discipline with respect to the pastor, who agreed to resign from the clergy roster. Resignation accepted.

The Council adjourned at 10:55.

Respectfully submitted,

David Hollrah, Synod Secretary